Why is catcher of the rye banned?

The main character, Holden Caulfield, is viewed as a defiant teenager, but in reality he’s just going through some problems and acting how any boy his age would.

Why is catcher and the rye banned?

Parents were worried that their children could end up like Holden: kicked out of schools, smoking, depressed, and angry.

Why was the catcher and the rye banned?

One of the main reasons people have banned The Catcher in The Rye is because it contains foul language. The protagonist, a sixteen-year-old boy named Holden swears throughout the book, which makes parents feel like he’s a bad role model for their teens who are reading the novel in school.

Was the catcher in the Rye banned in schools?

The first record of The Catcher in the Rye being banned was in Tulsa, Oklahoma, in 1960 after an eleventh grade English teacher was fired for assigning the book to his class. Since then, more than 30 incidences have been recorded across the United States of the book being removed from schools and/or classes.

Not even its vulgar language or violence can stop teachers from teaching this American classic, and teenagers living the life of Holden Caulfield (“The Catcher in the Rye.”). It has become and always will be such an important book in American literature, that banning it is just keeping students away from one of the best books ever written .

Well, Holden’s adventure is quite controversial . Holden has a very peculiar way of communicating, and it is not censored in any way. The book contains cuss word after cuss word, followed by some immoral statements about phonies. There are rarely sentences that do not have a cuss word.

But if The Catcher in the Rye only contained vulgar language, it would not be as controversial as it is.

How many people have been killed by the catcher in the Rye?

At least three high-profile assassination attempts have been linked to The Catcher in the Rye, including the deaths of John Lennon and Rebecca Shaeffer, as well as the assassination attempt of President Ronald Reagan.